“A great stay with our dog”
Reviewed 4 days ago for a stay in April 2017 NEW

We stayed over for 3 nights during Easter in the Shepherds Hut. It's in a great location between Scarborough and Whitby. Beautiful location and a cracking pub across the road - The Flask Inn.

Our dog stayed with us (brought our bed so she slept on the floor) and though space was cosy we loved it.

My husband and I don't have anything bad to say about this place. The couple who run it were great.

If you're considering going. Do it. Lovely part of the world too
!

Fabulous Dog Friendly Accommodation ”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in April 2017

We are staying in The Cowslip cottage at Meadowbeck and I cannot recommend it highly enough for superb dog-friendly self catering accommodation close to Robin Hood's Bay. Situated off the A171 it's a small holding nestling on hills with acres of grass fields and woodland with views of the Bay. It is excellent for dogs as you can walk along the public footpaths downhill towards the Bay. Our 3 year old Cockapoo loves it.
What's more, you have 2 resident donkeys in the field that you can watch from the French doors to the lounge. The setting itself is so idyllic that you could happily sit in the Lounge all day observing the landscape.
The accommodation itself has been finished to a very high standard in a modern vintage style that would suit most tastes.
This cottage has bathroom containing not only a corner shower but also a large corner bath. The bedroom is clean and bright with useful storage space. All floors are tiled or laminated throughout but there is underfloor hearing which is so pleasant.
Downstairs is a lounge with a comfortable sofa and 2 wing backed chairs. Off the lounge is a lovely fitted kitchen and dining recess. In the entrance hall is a downstairs cloakroom so you have 2 toilets. All the decor is pastel cream and sage green providing a peaceful ambience. There is lots of quirky wooden features too - particularly the TV unit. The TV itself has a Freesat box and there is also a DVD player.
If you like modern shabby chic then you will definitely love it here.
Outside is a small paved terrace with patio furniture where you can sit and overlook the fields towards the Bay.
Whitby is approximately 7 miles away and Robin Hood's Bay about 5 miles away. Also nearby is Falling Foss waterfall (5 miles) and Goathland Station (5 miles) for Harry Potter fans. You are right in the borders of the North Yorkshire moors too providing done stunning scenery.
All in all, this accommodation is fantastic in my opinion and the owners go the extra distance to make you feel very much welcomed and at home.

Amazing on all fronts!”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It's always a risk to re-visit somewhere you have loved staying. This is our third stay in Swallow's rest and has been as perfect as ever. Even though the cottages are more popular than ever they are still at the highest of spec, and as fresh as they were when we first visited. We made more use of the games room this year and throughly enjoyed the table football. Our youngest enjoyed the real eggs laid by the twins and Poppy. This year we walked further and managed the Cleveland Way to Whitby, which was muddy but a fantastic walk. We had the warmest of welcomes again from Graham and Lisa. We would highly recommend these cottages to families and couples, with or without dogs. We'll be back again soon!

Amazing”
Reviewed 4 days ago for a stay in March 2017

Second visit to meadowbeck and won't be the last. Amazing place we loved it. Clean with all home comforts. Love the donkeys

GUEST fEEDBACK - EXTRACTED FROM REVIEW SITES  2017

Jenny
May 2017
Our stay at Lisa and Graham's Shepard's Hut was wonderful! The setting was idyllic, and everything we were hoping for in a weekend getaway. Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay and surrounding attractions were easily accessible by car, but the hut was also rural enough to soak up the North Yorkshire's unspoiled countryside without distractions. The cold weather only made us appreciate the cosiness of the cabin even more; the fire was a real treat! Thank you for an authentic and relaxing stay in the Shepard's Hut, Lisa and Graham. It was a real treat.


“ideal for those who like a simple life in nature”
fantastic hosts, approachable and friendly. we had everything we needed, it was clean and hygienic.
inspired eco beautiful location

SHEPHERDS HUTS REVIEWS 

Lynne United Kingdom
10
“A little gem in the country”

Fabulous location , peaceful lovely little hideaway Great going back to basic feeling one with nature away from all the hustle and bustle of city life will certainly return.

Lovely setting & dog friendly”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in March 2017

The location is very good for North Yorkshire everything easy to get to , Robbin hoods bay, Whitby. Very dog friendly, when you do come to say here & you have a dog visit falling floss gardens it's a lovely please to walk. The cottage is very clean& everything you need is their. The donkeys are great lovely to see them eating their breakfast in a morning view out of window not bad too..

“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in March 2017

Stayed at the Swallows Rest cottage for 4 nights with my partner. These cottages are so lovely, all amenities provided, lovely decorated & lay out, beautiful views & added bonus of the donkeys right outside the patio.
The owners are so friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble.
Fabulous location, Whitby, Robin Hoods' Bay, Scarborough all on the doorstep and within easy reach.
We would recommend these cottages to anyone considering staying, and will definitely be back again in the future



Elizabeth
May 2017
My daughter organised this stay as a birthday present for me and a friend. We were made to feel so welcome by our host offered hot drinks and information about the local area. The location is stunning and ideal for walkers and those who simply love a good view. The accommodation was quirky and really made us slow down and enjoy every moment. I thoroughly enjoyed myself and would stay again, the showers were lovely and hot and at the end of our stay there was no sense of rush to leave. I would highly recommended the shepherds hut for a few charming nights away. Thank you Lisa.

Chantelle
April 2017
This place is just brilliant. Lisa gave us really simple directions and we had no problems finding it. We we're greeted by Graham and his blue tractor and shown to the hut and the games room...which is a brilliant facility. The hut itself is just spot on, looks just like the photo's but we were both surprised by the size of it...much roomier than we imagined. The shower room round the back is also fab, would reccomend to take some flip flops with you to slip on to pop to the shower and back! The hosts were great, always about if we needed anything. Overall an amazing weekend, we feel lucky to have had the opportunity to stay here and would love to return at some point in the future...x

“Lovely cottages!”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in the forget me not cottage. Very nice. Beautiful and we'll equipped inside. Underfloor heating to keep it nice and warm. 2 good sized bedrooms. Nice kitchen with lots of space for cooking. Spotlessly clean.
The location is great. They is a nice pub with good food and a petrol station 5 mins away. A short drive to Whitby. Robin hoods bay is close too.
We had a really great time. Dogs welcome too. We would definitely go back
.

COTTAGE REVIEWS 

“Perfect in all ways”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The location was great with scarborough, Whitby and North Yorkshire Moors all with in easy reach.The Cottage was loverly, spotlessly clean and amazing views. We was so impressed we booked to return before we left

Absolutely Fantastic!”
 Reviewed 2 days ago for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at the Shepherds Hut this last weekend - 21st-23rd April 2017 to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Everything about Meadowbeck and the Shepherds Hut was perfect. Our hosts were wonderful - friendly and helpful. We loved meeting all the animals - especially the donkeys! The hut itself is simply gorgeous - the bed is incredibly comfortable, and the shabby chic decor is lovely. The shower and WC to the rear are clean and well maintained. Spent the day in Whitby on Saturday, which is easily reached by the X93 bus. We will definitely be staying again!